Tags


The summer was fulled with incredible nerdy action films.  As the season changes from summer to fall, it is a perfect time for a more cerebral movie.  Last week Mike Birbiglia was on every podcast promoting his movie “Sleepwalk with Me.”  His Nerdist podcast spawned an incredible honest and deep discussion of relationships.  It is a sort of serendipity that the movie “Liberal Arts” opens this week.

Liberal Arts follows the adventures of Jesse Fisher (Josh Radnor). It will be interesting to see how the issues such as aging, returning to your Alma mater, and age differences in relationships.  The more I read about his movie, the more I want to see it.  It won’t be in RI until October.

In order to prepare for the viewing of this film, I have bought Josh Radnor’s first movie “Happythankyoumoreplease.”  I remember watching this movie on the way home from Germany.  I liked it at the time. I’m still looking forward to re-watching this movie.

The main purpose of this article is to discuss Josh Radnor’s Apple Store in So Ho Q & A. Not only did this Q & A make me want to see the movie, it gave me a profound respect for Josh Radnor.  I love his acting in How I Met Your Mother.  I was impressed that Josh wrote a movie just to give himself a good movie role.  Clearly he is a well educated and articulate person.

The first take away from the Q & A is “discuss the things you love, keep quiet about things you dislike.”  This is the very philosophy of Nerdist.  Josh talks bout how it might feel good to rip apart something you hate but ultimately this does more harm than good.  I never understand the attitude that because you hate something, everyone else has to hate it too.  It is also important to remember that the thing you love might be something someone else hates.

The second take away is based on the quote from the writer Steven Elliott: “Every project is a race against your own enthusiasm for it.” The minuet I heard this I recognized exactly what it meant.  I have so many started articles that I just lost interest in.  The key here is to ride that passion to the project’s completion.  This is something I fight against all the time.

The third is the Carlos Castaneda quote “We either make ourselves miserable, or we make ourselves strong. The amount of work is the same.”  It only makes sense to put your energy into being happy.  Making that decision only brings positive energy into your life.  People like being around happy people.

The final take away is, go see this movie! It has great actors.  The delightful and extremely  talented Allison Janney.  You might remember her from the West Wing and a million other movies!  Richard Jenkins is an incredible character actor.  He’s best known for Six Feet Under.  There is an incredible amount of chemistry between Elizabeth Olsen and Josh Radnor is amazing.  Elizabeth Olsen is best known for being Mary Kate and Ashley’s younger sister. She’s been in a few horror movies. I think this could be a break out role for her.

The writing looks smart. I really love stories that examine the different aspects of this complicated life.  All this makes the movie worth watching.  Please support this movie by going out seeing it at a theater near you.

Important links:

Josh Radnor on the Nerdist Industries Podcast “Making it” http://www.nerdist.com/2012/06/making-it-47-josh-radnor/

Liberal Arts on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LiberalArtsMovie

Josh Radnor on Twitter: @joshradnor

Find a theater near you!: http://www.facebook.com/LiberalArtsMovie/app_283362455028855

Josh Radnor

Josh Radnor at the Apple Store in SoHo

